Aux Send/Return

Marcel78

Gear owned
DM 4800
Hi there
I bought a used DM4800 with the meterbridge and FW CARD
I'm new to the digital mixing world
I want to use external effect modules
I connected them to an aux send with a psuedo balanced cable, send goes to the input from each effect and the return goes to the output from each effect
If I go to the aux 'block', i see the meters moving, but I don't hear any of those external effects
I checked the manual, but I didn't helped me out
What did I do wrong?

What DM channels are you using for the returns? There aren't any dedicated returns... You need to use some of your input channel for the FX return.

Just to be clear, there are the assignable sends and their respective returns. These are what I - and probably you - use for outboard efx boxes - if that's what the OP is asking.

CaptDan

Thanks for the repies so far
I use a Y cable on the send
The tip is connected to the input and the ring is connected to the output
It also said it at the back on the DM
I also tested with a balanced cable connected between the output from the effect module and the return from the DM
Still nothing

What you're describing is an insert cable, which would work fine on an insert jack like the ones on the individual channels. The aux send jacks don't work that way... They're not capable of receiving the returning audio.

Now, when you set it up with two cables, you STILL won't hear the effect until you assign the returns to faders on the DM in your routing pages. Even the internal FX require their returns to be assigned to faders.

Last edited:
Captain D... I understand what you're saying. Yes, I use the send and return JACKS for my Lexicons, but the returns have to be assigned to faders so you can turn them up. Duh. Noun trouble in my brain. I was thinking "there aren't any dedicated return gain controls."

Last edited:
Reactions: captdan