Crazy problem- Tascam 32 sounds bad after rebuild

Mark Brazeau

Gear owned
Tascam 32
Hey there!

Newbie here, I have a challenge that both myself and the tech cannot solve...

Have a Tascam 32; did a total rebuild (New Caps, alignment, mechanicals, and even a NOS tape head). We’ve aligned with it and MLS alignment tape and it shows smooth Frequency response to 28khz on the scope.

Hears the problem...Pun intended J

I was lucky enough to find a Safety copy of Dark Side of the Moon years ago, and whoa it sounds like no other. However, now (Post rebuild) it sounds flat, loss of dynamic range and high-end. And it’s not just that tape, it’s all tapes (Even some Masters I purchased from ABC international). Even tried aligning by ear and putting the old head back- same results.

A head-scratcher- Zero idea of what could be wrong?

Anybody? Solution will truly be appreciated!

Hello Mark,

welcome to this forum. I am not a pro here either, however I am trying to get something out of your note. I am sure that someone more day to day practicioner will pick up the issue and give some professional answer.
It would be good to know better what eyactly you did during the rebuild. Did you replace the opamps too for example? Does the issue persist only during playback, or also while recording? When you say a record sounded well it was with the same tape recorder with the original setup? To me the issue sounds like the equalisation (and probably the bias) are not set well.
L

It's been quite a while since I've done maintenance on a reel-reel.

That said,
If your reference calibration tape is known to be accurate, and your o'scope and measurement gear are calibrated accurately, and you've followed in order the sequenced maintenance steps in the service manual, then the result should be accurate playback of pre-recorded tapes.