DM3200/Logic Pro automation question

fclum

From
Bronxville, NY
Gear owned
DM-3200, IF-FWDM MKII
I have a 3:45 piece that I created in Logic Pro 10.3 (hereafter referred to as "Logic") that uses extensive and complex auto moves created using the DM3200's built in automation. I need to add a :30 introduction to the piece, which is essentially completed. How can I either add blank time at the beginning or reposition the regions that I've recorded in Logic and still maintain the correct locations for the automation moves on the DM3200? I know how to add time or reposition in Logic, but how will the automation moves in the DM3200 know about the new event positions in Logic? It would be a drag to have to do all the auto again! I was reading about Meta Events in the Logic manual. Is that something that could be of use in this instance?

Hi, listen, I'm new to this machine, but I have an idea that might work if you don't get a lead, and you don't find the answer on your own. You can create the intro in a separate project, you know, like a separate song from the part you already have done and automated, then create a project in your daw where you connect a two track final of your intro with a two track final of the part you already have completed with automation. Might take some nudging to get the intro and the part you have done aligned right where you want them, but that's an alternative versus completely having to start over, especially if it is sounding exactly like you want it, and you have hours of work into it. I'll keep an eye out here if someone tells you how to add space at the beginning or in the middle of a project, though, because I'd like to know myself.