DP-32 frozen

Mr. Master

Gear owned
DP-32
I've been using my DP-32 for over 2 yrs. with a 32 GB SanDisk Extreme UHS-I (UHS-1?) card, which was listed on the approved-card list. It's mostly worked smoothly, and I've only recorded two large files on it (two long, multitracked pieces--together they might add up to 2-3 GB from what I recall), and maybe a dozen relatively small files--I can't imagine it's gotten close to filling the card. I've left that card in place since I bought it two years ago, so I haven't been stressing that part of the device by repeated removal and replacement of the card.

Today (of course, these failures happen on a weekend, when Tascam has no customer support) I was using the jog function--something I've used often with no problem--to locate a point on my longest piece, and the machine has completely frozen with the jog "Search" display in place. I can't exit this mode as usual by pressing the "Jog Play" button--nothing happens. In fact, no button on the machine seems to work, even the power button.

I'm tempted to unplug the unit and reboot it, but the manual says "If the power is interrupted while an SD card is being accessed, all recorded songs and data on the card could be damaged beyond recovery." (This isn't just any weekend, it's one when I have some time and three different pieces I was hoping to work on, naturally.)

Does anyone have any experience with something like this?

Hi there

I've had the same problem. Just recently... but a few times in a row. It seems to happen when in jog mode and I expand the waveform and search for a certain spot via the jog wheel. I think the software just can't handle it. Nothing on the machine responds so I just pull the power cord. When it comes back on the song seems to be fine.

Not much help other than you are not alone :}

Actually, that is a lot of help. But, did you have other songs stored on your SD card, and they weren't damaged by pulling the plug?