DR-03SD Mastering Questions

RickyLee

From
Riverside CA USA
Gear owned
DP-03SD, 2488 MKII, TSR-8
So, I had some time to mess with my DR-03SD for the first time. Learned a cery hard lesson on the chincy power supply barrel plug connector connection to the recorder, I had my song tracking almost complete, slightly moved it to plug in a guitar cable on the back and the power went out! So basically I lost everything I had just done.

Anyway, my question is regarding the mastering process. I did my mixdown and 1st master. I played back the master to verify my start and end/fade out was good. I am happy with the song as is at this time. The instructions now call out to go back into mastering mode to use the mastering tools of compression EQ and Normalize. I do not need any EQ or compression. Normalize I am not wanting to either if: It will basically remove the dynamics of the recording? Or is it just as the instructions state, to raise the overall volume? I already have my level peaks right at the top of the dB bar, so I was figuring I am good to go.

So first question is the Normalize and will it compress the song removing dynamics? And can I make a copy of it with and without these tools to compare?

So now I need to read on, to see how to get this song into my laptop . . . .

Reactions: -mjk-
Hey Ricky. Normalize simply adjusts the highest peak in the waveform to 0. It does not change the peak-to-average ratio, nor does it compress/limit. It's like an automatic volume control that sets the highest peak to zero. It won't change how the audio sounds, only the level.

Bear in mind though, that if you have really peaky audio, Normalize might make it sound softer overall, but not otherwise different. Recently, Mark Richards posted some waveform images and discussed peaks vs: average. It's worth reading.