DSP B2 Failing. UPDATED THREAD, wasnt clock issue. Looking for spares

Discussion in 'TASCAM SX-1' started by Rodrigo, May 18, 2017.

  1. Rodrigo

    Rodrigo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes:
    0
    From:
    Argentina
    Gear:
    SX1
    hello guys, i know... me again. Another problem ahead:
    I've been suffering some weird clippings/artifacts with my sx1, they're like digital glitches that came from nowhere and jumps directly to the "master channel". I've reinstalled the Os and now the glitches are less frequent but they're still there. The clock configurations in the tascam are pretty limited so idk what else can i do. I love this machine so much and i recently discovered the parallel track sends to multiple channels and got me SO excited.

    Ps: Even with the "Pause" on, the glitches may appear sometimes, they sound louder through the Stereo outputs than the CUE. After the reinstalling, the glitches got quieter and only appear to be sounding in the right side of the master. Im afraid those fast trascients could break my speakers/headphones
  2. Rodrigo

    Rodrigo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes:
    0
    From:
    Argentina
    Gear:
    SX1
    Update: i think i found the root of the problem: the fx section. As soon as i start loading fx, the glitches start appearing. With heavier fx, they are more often... i need some help, i love the reverbs on this unit and not being able to use any fx makes this machine quite useless for mixing . This is by far my best equipment in the studio and i love it so much, please someone help me
  3. cmaffia

    cmaffia Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2012
    Messages:
    1,452
    Likes:
    226
    From:
    Queens, NY
    Gear:
    2 x DM3200, DA-3000
    I had this issue with my first DM3200. Turned out it was defective. The FX chips themselves went bad and at the time the unit was only a year old so Tascam honored the warranty and sent me a new one. If this is the same cause for your problem I'm not sure what you can do as they don't repair these anymore. It really does sound like the same problem I had. Random pops and clicks even when the unit isn't even playing tracks.
  4. Rodrigo

    Rodrigo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes:
    0
    From:
    Argentina
    Gear:
    SX1
    Are those chips in the dsp card? Maybe someone selling the unit as spares could provide me one :(
  5. Rodrigo

    Rodrigo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes:
    0
    From:
    Argentina
    Gear:
    SX1
    Update: Following the troubleshoot it seems that the B2 DSP is failing or not working correctly. The light that shows the correct working of the chip (it should keep turned on constantly, blinks). So i'm searching for a DSP card if anyone is selling some spares. Cheers