Electricity

Foggy Dawg

Gear owned
DP-24SD
Although I am new to the recording culture, I have a bit of experience using expensive and delicate electrical components.

I have read a lot of posts on the forum describing various malfunctions while the unit is operating. Obviously, I’m not qualified to diagnose these issues.

However, when I sit back and appreciate all the capability of my DP-24SD, its compact size, and its relative affordable price point, I most definitely classify this unit as “Electrically Delicate”.

We’ve all seen the old movies where the mad scientist throws the power lever and the lights dim. That’s a visible power surge, and although we may not see our lights dim, when various electrical demands on the grid cycle it affects the electricity in our homes. Additionally, when various electrical components in our homes cycle, it could surge the electricity to our instruments, amplifiers and recording equipment.

Most of us don’t realize how filthy, unregulated, and unconditioned the electricity going into our homes is. All of my musical equipment, and now my recording equipment runs through Furman power REGULATORS, that not only cleans and conditions the electricity it insure a constant and even source of power. I was basically forced into these units years ago playing dive bars.

And let’s not overlook the detrimental effects of electrostatic discharge. It’s become a S.O.P. for me to ground or electrically neutralize myself before entering my studio.

We’ve all heard the old saying “Were only as strong (pure/clean) as the weakest link in our chain.” When you look around your studio and add up your investment it doesn’t take long to realize its sizable. And the one common denominator between most if not all of this equipment? Yea, most of it requires that magical stuff called electricity.

Great advice, FD!