Failing ADAT port on DM3200

wm_b

Veteran
Gear owned
DM3200, DM4800 and DM24
It looks like the built-in ADAT port on my DM3200 is going out. It started this weekend on a session and after some trials this afternoon I have determined that it's the ADAT IN port on the mixer and not from the OUTPUT device. I did some swapping around with a couple different ADAT out devices and the problem remained regardless of what was going into it. It starts as some single pops like it's out of sync and then increases to a more constant series of pops until it kind of gives up and the pops are no longer mixed with whatever audio is going into it. I have also tried replacing the cable. This is a system that's been up and running well for a long time and nothing has changed with regard to the ADAT connections.

My system is clocked via an Apogee AD16x using a BNC cable.

What are my options? Has this happened to anyone else? I'm not far from Anaheim if they still do service there. I'm a competent tech and have done plenty of my own service including replacing the power supply in my DM24 many years ago. I have an old DM24 that is still functioning but not in use. I also have 2 Tascam ADAT cards that are also not in service (and don't do SMUX).

I have a DM4800 that is going to be replacing this DM3200 and also changing the entire way my system is setup but I'm not really ready to make that leap. If I can pull the mixer out and swap a part I am more attracted to that for the short term than moving up my plans to rebuild and re-cable my entire workspace.