FW -1082 help with initial setup

Travis Lee

Gear owned
FW-1082
Just grabbed a FW-1082, however it was second hand so i am unsure what Firewire cable i need for it, i looked and their are so many, and i have zero experience with firewire.

And i dont know what firewire card to get for my desktop,

I used CPUID to get my specs, which bit do you need to be able to help me?

again apologies if i'm being daft, but i've always used USB.

Hi, 1st make sure you download the 1.80 driver version 'specifically' for the FW-1082, I made the mistake of assuming I could use the 1.8 driver that I was using with my FW-1082, on my FW-1884, thinking the 1.80 driver is universal for all the FW line, NOT!

2nd, best bet is to use a firewire card with a Texas Instruments chip, although I've heard that some of the new motherboards have issues with the Texas instruments chip (hearsay on the Gearslutz forum). My Win 7 64 bit Pro Levovo ThinkStation D-20 PC has a built-in firewire ports, front & rear, which has a Texas Instruments chip, works fantastic with both my FW-1082 & FW-1884.

I'd think most any firewire cable should work, but most of my cables of all types, are Hosa brand. They cost a little more than the generic one's but I trust Hosa more than unbranded cables.
The maximum recommended firewire cable length is 15 feet, so if you only need 6 or 10 feet, I'd personally get the shortest one that I need.

Under Windows Devices, select your firewire device, and click update drivers, selecting "legacy" has been recommended, and that's what I do as well.