Help with Remote Layer and DAWs

essexman

Gear owned
DM-3200
Hello All - I am new to Tascam Forums, and hopefully new to a DM-3200. I have downloaded and read many of the manuals and searched the web for info. However, I can not find a good explanation of how the remote fader layer "lines-up" with the DAW faders. Most DAW controllers have a "Bank" or "Channel>" button. Could someone explain how I would control my DAW fader/track 17 with only 16 faders on the DM3200? I don't see any type of Remote Layer 1, Remote Layer 2, or Bank type of button.

To be clear, I am looking very hard at purchasing the 3200, but I still need some questions answered and I hope someone here could help.

Thank you

On the right side of the DM is the automation section. There is a BANK button there. When you are in REMOTE mode, and your DAW has more than 16 tracks, you can hit the "BANK >" button and that will shift all the DM channels to the left by eight. Its a bit hard to explain, but, if you wanted to adjust DAW track 17, you would just hit the BANK> button once, effectively moving all of the DMs channels to the left by 8, as if the first eight are now off of the board (and to the left of the mixer). So, now your DAW tracks 9-16 are controlled by DM channel 1-8, and DAW track 17-24, is now DM channel 9-16. Hit it again, and now DAW track 25-32 is DM channels 9-16..and so on. You can do this infinitely until you run out of DAW tracks, or at least you can in Reaper. The DAW tracks may or not visually move with your bank changes unless you actually hit the corresponding DM's channel SEL button. I think that depends on the DAW.
S

Ok - call me crazy, but I could have sworn the initial post had something about User Defined Layer in it - which is why I replied, but now I don't see it. So my reply looks stupid and has nothing to do with the response - SORRY!!

Bye!

jamsire said: