How long does it take to export long ISO tracks?

Robbie Ferguson

From
Ontario, Canada
Website
category5.tv
Gear owned
DP-008EX, DP-24SD
Hi there,
I'm interested in buying a DP-24SD but the fact that I must export the audio before I can access the files from my computer worries me.

I am a video producer looking to use the DP-24SD as an ISO audio recorder for our wireless mics, for later importing into our video editor to sync up with the cameras.

I'd be recording 4-6 tracks on a normal shoot, for roughly 2 hours non-stop. At the end of that time I need to import the isolated audio (individual WAV files for each of those tracks) to my video editor to sync up with the video.

How long would it take to do this export? 2 hours of audio, 4-6 individual tracks.

Thanks!

I don't have a direct answer - as I have not done that large of a file transfer.

But I'm wondering....

I'm curious to know whether it might be faster to remove the SD card, insert in computer, and copy files to another folder that way - as opposed to using the export function via Audio Depot folder.

Seems to me that that might be much faster.

Maybe someone who has tested this will chime in.

Thanks David,
Are you saying the files are accessible in a usable format (eg., WAV) even without exporting? I was under the impression that you must export to get the files (as I believe is the case with my little DP-008EX).

Cheers,
Robbie

Are you saying the files are accessible in a usable format
The "zz" files are .wav files, so are accessible in the song folder directly on the SD card.

The zz files might be "usable" provided you don't intermittently stop/start/pause the recording in real time as you are tracking.

You can test this yourself and examine the results.

If you have one contiguous song session, the .wav files in the song folder should look something like this:
ZZ0000_1.wav
ZZ0000_2.wav
ZZ0000_3.wav
ZZ0000_4.wav
ZZ0000_5.wav
ZZ0000_6.wav