Model 12 Audio Routing Questions

Zacharie54

Hi all,

I looked around and keep on getting more and more confused... If I want to use the Model 12 as my main interface for my Windows PC from time to time, do I have to sacrifice channels to be able to hear my DAW? Is my understanding of the routing correct?

Thanks! How happy have you been with the Model12? Any regrets or particular issues? I am looking to use it to record some of my jams with friends, and to also record some musical projects.

Kind regards
Zacharie

I setup a Model 12 template in Cubase that I use. I come out of Cubase on tracks 1 through 9/10. Tracks 11/12 are the main Stereo L/R. Works great!

Reactions: -mjk-
Thanks for your response. So if I understand correctly, this means you can't use the stereo input of 9/10? Leaving you with the 1-6 monos + 7/8 stereo inputs (total 7, pretty much right?).

My template is using 9/10 input, I have 10 inputs.

Hmmm could you elaborate please? Sorry, I'm fairly new to this! but if it uses the 9/10 input, you can't use the 9/10 as input for a TRS for example right? 10 inputs?

Are you talking about using a smart phone? In that case, it uses the music/talk input which is a TRRS input and that disables inputs 9/10. If you are not using the TRRS input you have all inputs 1-10 to use for instruments, vocals etc.

Well... I do not have a Model 12...I have model 24... and an old 244 Portastudio from the mid-80'...

But,,, if your mixer works like Model 24... and if I correctly understand it all these "Model-Series#"...

Your channels 1-8 are MONO channels. while channels 9-1 0 & 11-12 are "STEREO CHANNELS ".

And Channel 13-14 are most often used to route a Bluetooth as a device using a "stereo channel.... S

So you will have...

Mono channels 1-8...

Stereo channels 9-10 & 11-12...

13-14 are used as as Stereo Master Mix! ONLY!

Regarding the question about "Model-Series"overall... my Model 24 is GREAT!