Newbie DM-24 user - Help my brain hurts

William Rees

Gear owned
DM-24 DA-88 DA-20
Hi to you all

I have been recording for more than 45 years - just to give you an example

I have here the granddaddy of samplers - the EMAX 1 keyboard lol just 8 note poly and 8 bit sounds
but those sounds are great and you cannot reproduce this kinda warm fuzzy 8 bit noise on a modern computer ! This keyboard actually replaced the legendary Yamaha DX 7 which I had - 4 note poly and 21 sounds I think ! so going up to an Emax was luxury AND it had a floppy disc drive too !!

I have also got the wonderful 1st digital reverb ever made by a company Dynachord
It has got a massive 8 presets !! and cost me £500 back in 1979 ! but those 8 presets do sound great !

It was actually named the DRP-16 because for a further £375 you could buy an add-on chip which you retro-fitted and gave you ..…..another 8 presets !!

It made a refreshing change to the old spring reverb I had - which looked like a 4ft length of blue pipe the plumber has left behind !!

And recording ? Started on a Phillips 2 track which they manage to get a small add-on box which meant you could over-dub on 1 track !

Moved onto of course the 1st Tascam Portastudio 4 tracks ! - well actually not - you had to stripe
the 1st track with white noise so that the drum machine (Yamaha x15) would be able to follow -
so then ONLY 3 tracks to use for recording - yes you learnt instrument and vocal placement in the stereo field the hard way !!!

So here I am I've gone digital after all these years of resisting it - ALL my old analogue gear
is STILL working after 40 years of use !! Yes EMAX 1 yes Dynachord DRP-16 yes Roland SDE 1000 (anyone remember THAT !)