Noise

Discussion in 'Handheld and Field Recorders' started by mapleman58, Apr 20, 2017.

1. mapleman58

mapleman58 New Member

Gear:
    Tascam DR-40
    Hello, I have a DR-40, have had it for about two years. Most of this time it has been sitting on the shelf. It has always had a hiss to it no matter what I am trying to record or what mics. Is there supposed to be a hiss? Even with the built in mics in a quiet room I get hiss. I talked to one person who said to lower the gain but I don't see where I can do that on this recorder. How can I get rid of the hiss?
  2. mapleman58

mapleman58 New Member

Gear:
    Tascam DR-40
    Well I have been doing some experimenting with the input levels and I seem to be making some progress. I am new to all this recording stuff and I don't know what a good record level should be but I am figuring to keep it low enough so I don't get hiss. I have the hiss gone almost completely with the internal mics. I was just trying my new dynamic mics and I get no his. So I think it is mainly that I need to work with the recorder and learn what good recording levels for each mike is.
  3. cmaffia

cmaffia Moderator Staff Member

Queens, NY
    Gear:
    2 x DM3200, DA-3000
    Remember Dynamic mics have low output which means you will have to increase gain which means you will get more hiss. Try a condenser mic which will need either batter or phantom power.
  4. mapleman58

mapleman58 New Member

Gear:
    Tascam DR-40
    I was wandering about using a small mixer board as a signal booster into the DR-40 for any external mics, would this help?
  5. Stephen

Stephen New Member

Gear:
    DR-40