Porta 05 Flywheel (?) Not Engaging

soyenusha

Gear owned
Portastudio 424, Porta 05
Hi all, newbie here.

First, I did my best to search and determine if this had been answered elsewhere, and was unsuccessful. Second, I know that the best option would be to have it serviced, but 1) no places I know of near where I live to do so, and 2) I don't have the money at the moment. I'm in the middle of working on a project, and if there's a way I can fix this even temporarily so as to keep working, I would greatly appreciate the help.

I added a picture here, noting where the issue seems to be. When I press Play, the heads/pinch roller engage, and the roller/capstan pull the tape normally. The problem is that the right flywheel, (correct me if this is the wrong name), won't spin, and thus the tape bunches up within the tape case itself and jams.

Taking a look inside, I see that when Play is pressed, there is a metal plate in between both flywheels which moves upward. On the right side of this plate, it has a 'cutout' where a plastic pin is supposed to land, and if it does so correctly, the flywheel engages. I've confirmed this by manually helping the mechanism while powered on and playing. It appears that the metal plate's upward movement needs adjustment so that it moves fully up and allows the plastic pin to land in it's proper place, engaging the flywheel.

I've had a 424 Portastudio for over a decade, and had to replace the capstan belt, the 'gear C', and clean/regrease several times. I'm by no means a professional, but I'm comfortable doing basic fixes. This Porta 05 I saved from the recycling bin from someone who didn't know better, and it actually worked fine for a while, until this issue began.

Anyone able to help me out? I swear there's a millimeter of distance between 'works' and 'doesn't work' here, so I'm hoping it can be adjusted somehow.

Thanks everyone!

Attachments

• Capture.PNG
    Capture.PNG
    792.1 KB · Views: 9