Recapping 488 mki advice

John Hostetter

Gear owned
488 mki, 414 mkii, porta2
So my beloved 488 has a weird thing going on Channel 6. Before recording, everything monitors fine on this channel (levels through headphones, meters), and nothing is weird during recording (headphone monitoring, etc). However, when I play this channel back after recording (on either Cue or through the Mix) whatever is recorded is low (won't exceed -12 db on the meter) and muffled sounding. This ONLY occurs on channel 6.

This would mean that the problem would be on the R/P pcb right? Because this is the only part of the schematic that I can see that would only affect channel 6? I could be very wrong, which is why I am posting here.

I went ahead and took out the pcbs and am ready to replace the electrolytics on just the channel 6 portion of the R/P pcb and see if that will do anything.

Any thoughts or advice? I am an amateur who has taught himself to read schematics. I've built tons of guitar pedals and synth modules, but troubleshooting a Portastudio is new to me. I'm the first to admit I don't know what I'm talking about, so any advice is appreciated!

This is why taking a board out of a unit is the wrong thing to do. You should try and emulate a Technician and he would not take the board out unless there was a sure reason he had to. I have seen the work on some guys changing caps on boards and my comment is they were better off just to send it in as they did not solve anything and now I have to work on it. This guy attached all the caps with silicon glue to the board. Why? He had a blown out Op Amp which he never addressed.