Recording Vocals Has Crackle

Jeffrey Saltzgiver

Gear owned
DP 24SD, 464
Recently, when I record vocals I have been getting a weird "crackle" on, for lack of a better term, stronger notes.
I have been using the deck for a couple years and have never noticed this before.
I have just purchased, and started using, a Golden Age Pre-73, EQ-73 and Comp 54 MK II, along with a Shure SM-7B with the Cloud Lifter.
I thought maybe, since I was new to this equipment, maybe I had some settings that were causing this.
I removed all the GA pieces and tried both with the SM-7B alone, and with the Cloud Lifter... same result.
I then went back to my older gear - Audio-Technica AT 2050 - and have the problem with that, as well.
I have checked the input settings, playing around with the EQ.
Cutting the High's way down helped a little, but it cut the highs way down.
I've been playing with this for about 2 weeks now, and it's driving me crazy.

Any helpful ideas would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Jeff

You've ruled out the new mic, old mic, and all the new gear. Have you tried a different mic cable? Have you tried a different DP input? Is the DP grounded?

If you also rule out the mic cable, grounding, and the particular DP input, and the distortion occurs only on strong signals, it could be very rapid transients in your vocals that the meters aren't quick enough to display, or that the mics can't handle.

Solutions for that are first to lower the input signal by moving the mic further away; second to rotate the DP trim pad left until the distortion goes away. Make that test with just your mic (without the Cloud Lifter, and with all your outboard gear and internal EQ and effects settings turned off or not connected).