Scribble strips, console tape... what do you do?

Rockum

Veteran
From
Nashville, TN
Gear owned
DM4800, iffw
How do you label your channels? Have you found a great system? I am trying different things and wondered what was working for others.

I use white electrical tape, it is easy to write on and is removed easily. Do not use masking tape (paper tape) as it dries and leaves paper and glue behind if you leave it on too long.

Alan.

Reactions: Rockum
First, the temptation is often to use masking tape. After all, we use it to mask when painting, so it should work well, yes? NO! — DON'T! While you'd think it'd work just fine, it's only meant to be on for a few hours to a few days. Too long and it leaves glue behind and other chemicals behind.

I've never used electrical tape for this, but as an electrical engineer, I have used a whole lot of it for connections over many years and it does leave glue and other residue if left on too long. Unfortunately, I don't know what too long is and perhaps some other member with experience using it could chime in. However,, you've still got several additional options.

Historically, we've used art tape on analog desks. This is the stuff used by artists and framers to hold prints to matting and such. It's not cheap, but it's acid-free and you can leave a scribble strip on a mixer for years and it'll still come off clean — well, at least it always has for me and many others. A roll from Amazon is currently $12.95 for 180foot 3/4 roll w/Prime. It's white, non-glare, and takes writing well:

https://www.amazon.com/1-Inch-60-Yards-White-Artist-Tape/dp/B0026S3PCY

A friend likes this "economy" version of artists tape and claims it works well. I haven't tried it:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004O7HIYQ/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1