SD card problems

Chris Reeder

Gear owned
Tascam dp-32sd
When I insert my SD card it get a message that says "card error format card". I'm extremely new to this just got my unit Saturday off of Reverb. Any help out there? Thanks

Chris, which model? I have had this problem in both a DP-32 and a DP-24 (original w/MIDI/CD) which required replacing the main circuit board. If that is your problem, the part new runs about $160 when I last checked. I got lucky and found damaged units and was able to salvage the working boards. Hopefully you might just have a bad SD card/format. Just check your manual or view available YouTube tutorials on subject.

I have the dp-32sd. I may not even be using the card that I need. I just tried a sandisk 16gb brand new and it won't work.

I just checked my DP-32 and I am using a 16GB SanDisk Extreme Pro 95 MB/s SDCard w/o issue. You just need to make sure you are using a TASCAM approved/tested SDCard with your unit to rule out any compatibility issues before you dig deeper. The DP-24/32 line can be fussy about SDCards. Will your SDCards format in a PC as a test? BTW, if the reader in your DP-32SD is bad, your best bet is to get a replacement PCB from Full Compass (part # TASCAM E95439310A) if you have tech skills and feel comfortable under the hood. If not you might be looking at sending to a TASCAM service center. Once again, it just might be your SDCard ....

Well it went a lot better when I formatted my card!!! ‍♂️ I told you I was new!! Thanks for the help

Got a question, doesn't really pertain to Tascam recording but you guys seem to know what you are doing. I'm struggling with keeping good time. I use a metronome but I'm struggling with that. I have heard from a sound engineer that they use a drum machine to start with and that's how they get it so tight. Can anyone help me? Thanks guys