Songwriting in general

jonte4

From
United Kingdom
Gear owned
Tascam SX1
Hello, If any of our members would like advice on the subject of ''songwriting, please contact me with your query. If any budding writers out there need a hand please ask, and I will assist you to the best of my ability. My credentials are. I am signed,also have a publishing deal with a globally known publishing house.Plus I am a recently retired pro- musician,session and journey man.So, I have a bit of knowledge of how the profession works. Regards,Jonte4

Reactions: jeff stogner
jonte4,
Hi there, Thank you for your post. I will take you up on your offer. I came across this forum in searching for some tips about my recorder. My questions will be dealing with subjects related to publishing and so forth. One thing at a time so can you recommend the proper way to copyright, such as what service do you use and guidelines.
Thank you, drk

How to become expert in the music business:

1. Buy "This Business Of Music" and read it.
2. Get a lawyer who knows IP law.
3. Visit http://www.copyright.gov and read all of it.
4. Never ask advice on an Internet forum unless you are are interested in misinformation.

You don't need a "service" to copyright your work, BTW. The website tells all.

Another good book of knowledge I had the pleasure of reading in Music School was "The Musicians Business and Legal Guide" . Jim's reply is spot on!

Whatever book you buy, make sure it is relevant to the country you're in. For instance , American copyright books are useless in The Netherlands.

Reactions: -mjk-
Indeed, Arjan. For example here in Soviet Republic of Finlandija copyright is granted: if you create a piece of art you have copyrighted it instantly. Now ... the problem is of course how you prove it in case you go to court defending your copyright.