Tascam 24sd vs Zoom R24 vs Audio Interface/preamp

Macguy

Gear owned
None yet
So, I have a question regarding Tascam DP-24sd vs Zoom R24 vs Audio Interface into a DAW.

I like editing and mixing in my daw. However, I like the idea of recording straight into a stand alone device. I am looking for a good high quality sound preamp to get a really good recording if I am remote or at home and then transfer the recordings to my daw. I don't need the extra features of the zoom r24 as drum tracks, etc will be imported tracks from my Mac. I am also not worried about midi too much. More rock recordings than anything and just want to be able to get a great sound (possibly some light mixing) before transferring it to my Mac. I'm a software engineer so I get a little tired after staring at a sceeen all day to have to be at my desk again for music recording. So, i am looking for something I can be remote.

Anyway, Here are my questions:

1. Are there any sound comparisons between the Tascam dp 24sd and the zoom r24? I have heard some things about disappointing or not as "high quality" preamps? Is this true? Anyone have both?

2. Would it make sense to get a Behringer small mixer or some sort of high quality preamp to route through to the input to the Tascam or zoom?

3. I do own an iPad Pro and have Cubasis. I am finding that discovering a good interface for it that can record 4-8 inputs at once seems to bring its own challenges. But, if anyone has any good sounding audio interfaces that outshine Tascam or Zoom then I would definitely listen to that feedback as well.

I am a little old school and partial to the stand alone device since I just want to get back to making music that sounds good (sonically) and something that could be pushed to iTunes, etc eventually.

So, I guess my main concern with all of the above would be the sound quality of the preamps for the above devices. Any feedback/recommendations would be much appreciated! Thanks!