US-16x08 not workin after Windows 10 update

David Gamble

Gear owned
US-16x08
I have been using this device for a couple of years now and after a recent Window 10 update the ASIO drivwer does not work with any of my DAWs. I have unistalled, reinstalled, did everything I could think of. Call Tascam tech help and the tech was stumped. Everything looks right, but no sound playback or recording from Sonar Professional, Sound Forge, or any other audio app. Any help would be greatly apprciated.

Hi David,

This might sound wrong but I'm kind of glad you have the same problem. I've been working with it for years without problems and since a Windows 10 update it doesn't work with any of my DAWs. I've tried everything, reinstalling drivers, DAWs, whatever...

It doesn't work. I hope TASCAM will give us an answer.

Last edited:
Since everything looks like it should work, but it doesnt, I am starting to think there is a driver conflict, or something else in Windows causing the problem. I am going to wipe my C drive, reinstall Windows 10 and see what happens. A lot of work! I have tons of programs that will need to be reinstalled as well. I will let you know if it works.

I wiped my system drive, installed Windows 7 and all of its updates, which I had before I updated to 10, installed the US 16x08 drivers, installed Sonar Professional and it works. I will have to see what happens when I start adding plugins and such. I probably will stick with 7 for a while. There are things I never liked about Win 10.

Glad that worked for you David. Thanks for the update!
I have sent an email to Tascam support in the hope that they can fix it.

Last edited:
I just installed Windows 10 from 7 with all of its updates and the US16x08 is working as it should. So if you can do a clean install of 10 or 7 then 10, it should work. I would have stuck with 7, there are a lot of things a like about it over 10, but MS will quit supporting it in 2020.