What's the "correct" method of "Uploading" wav files to a project?

Discussion in 'TASCAM MX-2424' started by Nibmo, Jun 6, 2019.

  1. Nibmo

    Nibmo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes:
    0
    Gear:
    MX2424
    Hi MX-2424 Users.

    With the gracious help of Alan (witzendoz) I was able to install and run MX-View on a rather modern'ish HP Z-420 Workstation with Windows 10 64bit without a single issue.

    I did as much reading as I could find, but some things do not seem entirely clear to me....

    After creating a project on the MX-2424 and connecting through MX-View (with a network switch) I had a doozy of a time trying to import mono audio tracks that I had exported from Pro Tools...

    What I ended up doing was choosing "Upload" in the Import/Export window... this got the tracks transferred to the MX, but couldn't find a method of placing them in tracks in a particular project. Clicking the "Load Track" option on one of the track drop down menu (the small gray arrow) opened the Project/Track window... from which none of the imported tracks were available. At this point the only place I see the actual tracks are in the "Import/Export" window... even after they were already imported to the MX.

    So the only way that I could find to place, or import audio tracks to an actual project session, was to first enable non-destructive mode on the project (which is not what I wanted, but okay).

    Then with a single imported wav file selected in the Import/Export windows, choose File > Load to Clipboard.

    Then with the Edit enable button turned on I would be able to paste it in from the clipboard.

    I would think there is a more intuitive way to do this, no?

    Any help or hint is appreciated!
  2. witzendoz

    witzendoz Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2012
    Messages:
    413
    Likes:
    28
    From:
    Fremantle, Western Australia
    Gear:
    M3700 MX2424 MSR16S
    Now I am saying this from memory due to being halfway round the world from my mx.

    To past a wav file I believe the project must be a non-distruct project, not a tape mode project.

    I think you are right copying the file to the clipboard, I think there is a paste to playhead option which places the file to a position in the project.

    Things to watch, a broadcast wav file will turn up in its time position.
    The file must be mono, stereo does not load
    The file must be the correct bit rate and sample rate for the project

    There is a tascam tutorial to do with protools but it is written for old versions of protools here

    https://tascam.com/us/product/mx-2424/download
  3. Caveman

    Caveman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes:
    6
    Gear:
    Mx2424
    trks have to be imported into a loaded project.
    trks can then be loaded into project on selected trk in edit window.
    they'll load to their original time which may not match project
    clipboard works too especially to paste a partial track sent out for massage paste at playhead. Clunky compared to daws but its almost 20 years old and not a daw so....Im good with the clunkiness

    Not sure that's what you were looking for but hope it helps ;-)
  4. Caveman

    Caveman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes:
    6
    Gear:
    Mx2424
    sorry, it's been a while for me since using mx on regular basis.
    Track drop down menu, has load unload rename etc pick load and you can select to load track you transferred to mx. It can be in the loaded project track list or one of the other projects on hd.

    let me know if this helps. Or if it's even the same issue you're talking about. I might be able to make a quick video if needed.
    Hope that helped :)
  5. Nibmo

    Nibmo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes:
    0
    Gear:
    MX2424
    Thanks guys... I appreciate the help. I have been too busy to play around with it, but will do so today.

    Is this why on a project I imported track into started at 0:00:00 instead of 1:00:00? And is that a bad thing? I read in the manual that they start at 1:00:00 because of pre-roll

    Thanks!!
  6. Caveman

    Caveman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes:
    6
    Gear:
    Mx2424
    yes sometimes I export a single track for massage on daw and bring back new copy it goes to zero unless I load it to clipboard and paste at playhead or enter in a value on transport section of screen or the in out depending on what Im doing. I used to be better at this Ive forgotten much more than I remember maybe someone will chime in with better faster way.