Will someone evaluate my headphone system?

rtteter

Gear owned
DM4800
(sorry for the multiple posts this week, I'm a noob)

Ok - So I have the AN/DM card. I am trying to route my DAW outputs to the AN/DM card outputs (8 mono outputs). THEN, those 8 outputs are going into 8 return channels on my snake to/from the tracking room. THEN, I come out of the returns in the snake box and into four separate 2 channel behringer analog mixers. hence - 4 headphone stations, each with two faders - the entire track and the Muscian's instrument ("more me"). The track is routed via an aux/buss send created in logic.

It works- for about 10 mins. And then the audio in the personal behringer mixers starts to crackle and pop and distort and fade and it gets worse and worse and worse. Do I maybe just have a clock issue?

I route in a similar fashion for my headphone mixes. Does the crackling happen on all 8 channels? Does it simultaneously happen on all behringer mixers? Can you simply the route to rule out bad snakes/wiring or behringer mixers? This can range from bad cabling to failing DAC on the analog card.

All 8 channels!

Also I'm running an aggregate system. Running a focusrite 18:20 in tandem with the 4800. Could that be it?

Don't know. Take it out of the equation and test the outputs of your analog card without snakes. Just go to your headphone amp directly and see what happens.

Could it be that there is no headphone amp?

Out of card. Into snake return. Snake return goes into mini mixer. Headphones out of mini mixer. I figured the mixers were acting as amp?

Mini Mixer should be fine. Go straight to the behrigner then and take out the focusrite to rule out clocking issue. Keep it simple to rule out DAC on analog card or cabling. Don't use snake use patch cable for testing. Are you sure it isn't your mini mixer? Can you test it with other signals not from the DM?

Last edited: