X48 bios set up

Thank you HellvisPresley, you are a LIFESAVER.

Cheers
jim

Hi Hellvis.

Just wanted to say thanks a lot for this doc. It looked like my x48 was dead after a battery change.
All's right with the world now,
Thanks a lot : )

Al

This bios information is absolutely invaluable to save you hours, or even days or weeks to get your X48 back online quickly and painlessly!! Thanks for digging up the info and posting for all to use! This is exactly how forums should work!! Cheers!

Thank you very much, nice catch!
I had to go through this all by myself once, it took me at least an hour to sort the bios out and I only managed because I'm actually a PC tech and I'm used to the mystical lingo.
If I remember correctly, the internal HDD doesn't reappear until you reactivate the external SATA controller and reboot.
And there are a few other settings to change from default, namely the drive boot sequence, or you'll have to unplug any external drive each time before booting.
I really dont understand why they didn't rig up a working "default settings" recall in their firmware, I'd gladly do it for free for them, it would take 5 minutes if they sent me the files...
The X48 is such a superb machine, I'd be proud to contribute ;o)
This .pdf will certainly come in handy when I'll have to change the battery again 4 years from now... it will be sorted in under a minute.
Cheers!

Last edited:
Let me say that this smart work saved me from an unnecessary repair. Thank you, thank you, thank you. Now, can someone explain why the X48 can go into stupid mode when not used for awhile, in this case, 4 1/2 months. I own 2, the other was not used in over 6 months and it booted just fine. Anyone?

Thank you so much for this work and post!
My X48 just stopped booting a few days ago and this info brought it back to life.

here is another

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2015-02-05 at 10.57.31.pdf
    232.8 KB · Views: 197
  • Screen Shot 2015-02-05 at 10.57.47.pdf
    204.3 KB · Views: 143