Advice on Audio Quality

Mark Nicholson

From
San Diego, CA
Gear owned
Model 12
Hello everyone,

I'm a noob at sound processing, and I would be very grateful for any advice you can give me on how I'm getting on. I have recorded some audio for my YouTube channel on optical design. It's a yawnfest if you're not into it, but my goal is to have a really clear, professional voice track for spoken voice. This sample file:

https://soundcloud.com/user-6836741...683674132-115654328/sets/tascam-model12-tests

is the audio as it comes off the Tascam. I have my microphone going into channel 1, Gain at about 1 o'clock and compression at about 2 o'clock. Everything else is flat. I record on the Tascam, and just transfer the file to PC over USB when finished. I then put this track through Audacity and process it to give

https://soundcloud.com/user-6836741...683674132-115654328/sets/tascam-model12-tests

Within Audacity, I use compression, limiting, a bit of bass boost EQ, a bit of top boost EQ and a bit of de-essing with a clip around the 6 kHz region. I also do noise reduction and normalization.

I'm looking for feedback on how well I've done this, and any steps you think I should take to get a better final result. Thanks in advance!

- Mark

Hi Mark, here's my take on it. There is a clear difference between the two clips and the processed one certainly sounds clearer and more intelligible. However, I do have some remarks:

1. You can make quite an improvement IMO with starting at the beginning: the mic and use of it. You don't mention it, but what type is used and how close to your mouth is it? I hear quite some ambience in the track (the sound of the 'room') but ofcourse you are apparently doing video so you may be limited in what you can do here.

2. I think your top end EQ boost is defeating the de-esser function - to me the sibilance did not get better, maybe worse (but I must say I'm listening on laptop speakers).