Amateur Phase Question

kraml

Gear owned
DP008EX
I'm going to put two mics on my acoustic guitar, using the DP008EX. I've come across a discussion or two about phase cancellation in the reading that I have done. Do I need to worry about phase cancellation? At this point I plan to put a dynamic mic close to the instrument, and a condensor boundary mic a little further out on a desktop area. (That's what I have in my kit.) The room is quite small with many hard surfaces and little to absorb sound. It's much more "lively" than my carpeted living room--annoyingly so, I'm afraid. I'll be playing clasical/fingerstyle on both classical and steel stringed instruments. Yes, I am an amateur. I've recorded electric guitar direct in to my computer in the past (20 years ago, using BIAB) but never acoustic with mics. I am new to the DP008EX. k

The short answer is "trust your ears." There are always interactions when there is more than 1 microphone being used in a room. In order to manage the sources, I would put each mic on a track of it's own. That way you can balance them later and even change the polarity if necessary. In the end, it's all about how it sounds.

Thanks mjk. Is it possible to change the polarity later using the DP008EX? I had searched for the term "polarity" in the manual without success. k

I don't own one of those machines. They might refer to it as phase in the manual.

I have a feeling this unit does not have the capability to change phase. I cannot find either polarity or phase in the manual (so far as either has to do with my question here).

as mjk said, put each mic on it's own track. Then what you need to listen for is a diminished volume when both tracks are playing, in other words one track is partly cancelling out the other. Do some test recordings and listen for this phase cancellation. Move the mics around and record and listen. Some DIs and pre amps have polarity reverse switches, maybe buy one of them?