Headphone Out on Model 12

Mark Nicholson

From
San Diego, CA
Gear owned
Model 12
Hi,

I have just bought a pair of Bayer DT770 Pro headphones with 250 Ohm output impedance. I have them plugged into the Phones 2 output on the Model 12. They work well, but the sound level is pretty quiet. I have the output cranked the whole way, and they never get more than an adequate level of output.

Is there any way to further boost the headphone output from the board itself? I'm happy with where I have the input signals themselves and the overall metering is fine, but the phones are a little quiet

The Beyerdynamic DT-770 Pro comes in several impedances: 32 Ohm, 80 Ohm and 250 Ohm. This makes a crucial difference in how loud they will be on certain outputs: generally, the lower impedance, the louder the headphone.. So if you can, try changing it out for one of the other types (unless you have other reasons for selecting the 250 Ohm version).

Disclaimer: I have no knowledge of the headphone outputs of the Model 12, so there could also be another way for you to get them to sound louder.

Reactions: -mjk-
External headphone amplifier. But, what @Arjan P says.

Agree with Arjan and mj. Your model 12 headphone circuit doesn't have enough audio power to drive the 250 Ohm Beyerdynamic DT770 properly.

However, studying the Model 12 Block Diagram, I don't see a way to incorporate an outboard headphone amplifier directly with the headphone monitor circuit, since there are no parallel line-out jacks associated with that circuit (the headphone jacks are low impedance and not suitable because the inputs on a headphone amplifier are high impedance).

From the Block Diagram, it looks like your possible options for using an outboard headphone amplifier with the Model 12 directly would be to make use of one of the auxiliary circuits or the Sub-out circuit. I don't have hands-on familiarity with the Model 12, so someone else will need to confirm whether either of those is a viable option.