How to Overdub on Model 12

Floydone

Gear owned
Model 12
I am very new to using the Model 12 and I would like to overdub some sounds on existing recorded tracks. The Tascam website says the the Model 12 can overdub as well as bounch track and Punch in and Out. I can not find anywhere in their documentation or web site how to OverDub. Can someone here please either send me a link or step by step instructions. I would greatl appreciate any help.Thank you in advance.
Floyd

It sounds like you want to merge recorded and new sounds onto the same track. I don't think this is possible. I'm not so familiar with what auxes and subs the model 12 has, but I think you would need to send the old and new sounds to an aux and record that onto a new track.

overdub some sounds on existing recorded tracks. The Tascam website says the the Model 12 can overdub as well as bounch track and Punch in and Out. I can not find anywhere in their documentation or web site how to OverDub.
As the 12/16/24 are professional level FOH mixers, TASCAM assumes (far too much so in my opinion) a certain level of knowledge in the use of this kind of gear; and their owner manuals reflect that, unfortunately.

I don't own one of these Front Of House live mixers, so can't help directly, but:
  • Have you searched the shaded sticky section "Tips & Tricks" thread for any posts about overdubbing, etc?
  • Have you searched the shaded sticky section "Video Tutorials" thread for any posts on overdubbing,etc.?
  • Have you searched the sticky section "User Videos" thread for any posts that involve overdubbing, etc.?
  • Have you searched the 12/16/24 general forum on the terms "overdub", "bounce", "punch"?
To your specific question, unless you articulate clearly what you're trying to accomplish there's no way to get you pointed in the right direction, as the process differs according to the desired outcome. "Overdubbing" could involve