Model 24/Model 16 potential user - question

Chris Fitzgerald

From
Louisville, KY
Website
chrisfitzgeraldmusic.com
New user, glad I found this forum. I'm a music professor at the university of Louisville, and I'm looking to improve our recordings of our small jazz ensembles in two ways. I was looking at the units listed for two purposes and was told yesterday by a sales rep for a reputable company that they would not do the first of these functions without an additional external recorder, which I have a hard time believing. So I thought to ask here to see if it was true, or whether he was either 1) misinformed or 2) trying to sell me something else he wanted me to buy instead.

The two tasks I am trying to accomplish:

1) Live recording of ensemble concerts while mixing down to a stereo track in real time: basically, I would mic up each instrument, get a basic decent overall mix including EQ, then slightly ride faders to highlight soloists throughout. Ideally, at the end of the concert I am looking to have a stereo mix I could immediately access and share by popping the sound card out, normalizing if needed, and sharing with all participants via a cloud drive.

2) Recording ensembles in a more controlled setting by micing everyone up, recording flat, then later performing a mix with input from the students. While I understand i could always do this on a computer by uploading the files and mixing on Logic, for educational simplicity and workflow purposes it would be nice if I could do all of this within the Model 16 or 24 itself in the classroom without using a computer; the point is letting all of the students quickly have a hand in the mix once they are done playing.

The sales rep said that neither of the units could accomplish:
- the first task because it would not print input from the faders in real time, which I find nearly impossible to believe;