Pre-amp and monitor advice

ScottSwitzer

Gear owned
Tascam DP8 Tascam dp32sd
Hello all,
I've been using a dp8sd for many years and decided to make the jump to a dp32sd
I run sm57's and sm7b.
My two main questions are;
What pre-amp to use for best quality from sm7b?
What monitors pair well with dp32?
Like most artists I'm on a budget, but am willing to spend for the quality.
Thanks,
-Scott

Hi @ScottSwitzer and welcome to the Tascam Forums. You won't need a preamp with those mics and the DP-32. Plug them directly into the XLR connectors and assign them to tracks.

Monitors - a very subjective and personal issue. I suggest you research the topic and review your needs.

Reactions: David Porter
Still curious of others expierince with powered speaker and using preamp on mics like sm7b. I've read and watched videos about getting way better sound by powering said mic.

Reactions: -mjk-
What mj said.
a. There's no reason to use an outboard pre-amp for a high quality mic like the Shure SM7B instead of the XLR pre-amp on your DP-32SD. The DP-32SD mic pre-amps are completely transparent, with plenty of gain to reach -12dBFS and higher. With a sensitivity of 1.12mV for the SM7B, most times more than likely you'd need to use the Trim Knob to keep the signal from overdriving.

b. There's a post in the Equipment Sticky on choosing reference speakers. There are too many variables that will be unique to your individual situation to make specific recommendations other than to look at well respected pro and semi-pro brands with a performance history of accurate, neutral on-axis high fidelity reproduction.

Last edited:
Some folks do use external mic preamps in order to add "color" to the signal when tracking.