Recording stereo mix on Model 12

J Kempster MIPS

From
UK
Website
soundcloud.com
Gear owned
DR100, DR70, X8, Model 12
Is there an easy way of recording just the stereo main mix on the Model 12, or individual sources without always creating a 'song' of 12 tracks? I haven't found a way of ending up with a simple recording on the SD card which I can load into my DAW (Adobe Audition, in case anyone asks) and start editing.
I'm not a musician, I'm a radio producer and interviewer. I don't want to load 12 tracks into my DAW with every recording I make.
Is it by design that the Model 12 will create 12 tracks, including blank ones, even if you do not arm the channels for recording?
For example, I wanted to record a quick voice track this evening to drop into a radio package. I armed just the mic channel for record, and also pressed 'Post Rec' in the hope of getting a stereo track plus the individual mono mic. The model 12 helpfully gave me an SD card full of 9 blank tracks, plus track 6 (my studio mic) and two mono tracks (11 + 12) for my main mix.
I'm finding that for the non-musician, the Model 12 is becomeing less and less useful. I wanted a good quality version of the Zoom L8, which is useful and intuitive, but poorly built. It would be a shame to have to return to the Zoom, but I'm finding the Tascam painful in everyday use!

Not an owner of these front-of-house mixers. My understanding however is the Model 12 always records a stereo mix on the 2-Track master recorder (tracks 11 and 12).

Your owner manual (OM) should describe how to create, access and export an interleaved stereo master WAV file using the signals present on tracks 11 & 12. But if you've used only one mic on one channel, then your stereo mix on tracks 11 & 12 and the interleaved stereo master file you create can only be L/R mono as there's no stereo signal to be had, yes?