Request for general recording support

UrsusArctos

Gear owned
DR-701D
Dear sound engineering and recording community,

I am new to this forum and I am not a professional sound engineer. I therefore beg your indulgence with me. This is not really going to be about specific equipment queries but rather an attempt to tap into the communities vast expert knowledge in sound recording. I hope this is the right place to start such a thread. Note that all my so far conducted internet research did not provide any meaningful results, which is why I hope to get some answers from this community.

First a few words about myself in ways of a self-introduction to the esteemed cummunity: I am passionate about classical music. My wife and I have somehow managed to transfer this passion to our two kids, who happen to be very talented musicians, both playing string instruments.
I am also a hobby photographer which grew into a little videography, mainly to record music performances of our kids. When I started this videography, I soon learned that in-camera audio was far from giving me any results that do the performers justice. So I quickly acquainted myself with the basic knowledge for audio recording and thereby discovered the obvious. Much like I did with the optical part of the recordings, I would have to invest into audio recording equipment. To make a long story short, I currently use the following audio recording equipment to complement my Canon EOS 5D MkIV DSLR:
  • TASCAM DR-701D: This was the only recorder that I found to be able to receive a Start/Stop signal from the DSLR, so that video and audio recording can be started simultaneously by means of an HDMI connection. I quickly discovered that the despite this connection the audio recording lags some tenths of seconds behind the video but this is not a problem as it can be dealt with easily enough in post. But really this simultaneous start and stop of the recording was the one feature that drove me to the DR-701D.