TASCAM 244 problem

bloooster

Gear owned
Tascam 244
Hi,

I just bought a Tascam 244 but the recording doesn't work. When i put play, it just make weird noise and nothing is happening.

It's weird because 30 min before it just worked perfectly. I'm a beginner with this kind of machine so maybe i'm doing something wrong but i don't think. If somebody can help me it would be nice.

Take a peek at the idler wheels...they are part of the transport caddy and have probably turned to goo. It's messy to clean but not terribly difficult. Also check your belts, they are very likely in need of replacement.

I found these at Home Depot in the plumbing isle:
Danco B9035 for Price Pfister for Stem 3H-10H/C. These rubber washers fit wonderfully.

I'm expecting the real pros to throw some hate my way for using the wrong part :)

Not exactly as I have been using square seals for Idler tires for a while now. The mechanism needs a lot of work not just some idler tires. Too many people tell me when I am to repair a unit that it only needs a belt. Since when did they become an authority on what it needs? If they only need a belt then go and change that and see what that gets you. They will be back if they want it fixed correctly. I have been working on these units since they have come out and not one of the decks I worked on ONLY needed a belt. That is why that statement is ridiculous.

Hi everybody,

I'm having a problem with my 244 as well so I thought I might just post it in here. I haven't found any issue like mine in the www so far and I really hope someone can give me a hint. It's kind of strange...

Today I recorded a track which worked fine. After rewinding I could listen to it and decided to record it again but it didn't work. The first take was being erased as it should have been but there was no new take. Of course I considered some "easy" mistakes like not having set the input properly and so on... But since then I'm not able to record anything!