Tascam 52 pinch roller

Tim Roberts

Gear owned
Model 52, Model 38
Hello all - my first post to this site.
I am in search of a pinch roller for a Tascam model 52 1/4" half-track (two track) machine. The existing pinch roller appears to be for either 1/4" or 1/2" machines. Anybody have a source of OEM rollers? Alternately, has anyone tried the Athen Corp. pinch rollers?
Also, anybody have experience with re-capping these machines? I see no exploded, leaking, or otherwise compromised electrolytics, however there may be signals or supply voltages to look at with a scope to confirm good filtering??
Thanks in advance.
- Tim

Hi Tim,
I am a past Teac Technician to start and the 52 roller can be most effectively be sent to Terry when he is feeling better in a couple of months. This is where I have all my rollers done. Terry's rubber rollers in Sparta MI. He has come down with a Covid infection and so he is recovering.
The parts on the cards that I would look for and replace are 100uFd and 220uFd Marcon type caps. These out of all the caps that Tascam used seem to be the ones that age the worse and have already shorted in a 48 I was working on. When I see those in a 32, 34,38 or other decks I change them out as fast as I do 10V caps. You can easily get Nichicon, Panasonic FM or Wurth 105*C caps from Mouser of other suppliers that are much better. Wurth caps are from Germany.