TASCAM 564 to BR-800 to DP32sd to Audacity and Reaper A Musicians Journey

JP Illes

From
Columbus, IN
Gear owned
DP-32sd, Mini Disk 564
I just finished my first project on the DP32sd and thanks to all the great people on this site that have helped to keep me sane during the process... A especial shout out to Dr. Phil... I don’t know what so many of us would do without his sage advice..... I started messing around with multi-track recording, probably a couple of decades ago with the TASCAM minidisc 564... Let me back up, I have been playing at the guitar since I was 12 years old.. The operative phrase is “playing at the guitar”. I didn’t get serious about my instrument until about 15 or 20 years ago.. It was at that time I purchased the 564.. I made a few recordings and then the thing went into the closet.. Fast forward about 10 years and by this time I hade been a church musician, played bass in a jazz trio and started my passion for the Blues... This is when I bought my BR-800. I used it to help create backing tracks that I loaded onto my RC-300 so that I could be a one man band. I’ve been playing at open air markets along the Front Range of Colorado for the better part of the last ten years. I started using Audacity to edit my backing tracks so that I could break the songs down into Intro, Verse, Chorus, and Outro... and then load them onto the RC-300.. It worked pretty well... With my partner in crime, Joe, on the harmonica, we started to develop a bit of a following.. The two of us could make a lot of noise.. I retired from my day job as a structural engineer about a year and a half ago. Joe and I had great plans for the future, and then the pandemic hit... We found ourselves home bound ever since.. It was at this point in time that I decided that I would try and take my playing and recording to the next level... After all I wasn’t going anywhere, and I had all the time in the world... This is when I thought I would redo my small home studio.. I really am not a