Which Model is right for me (and other questions)?

712Jefferson

Hi, all. Joined the community today and hope to become a regular member. I'm basically a bedroom hobbyist and just relocated to a new state with my wife. The move required me to sell off most of my old gear (long story) and start from scratch.

Now that we're settled in, I've started the process of searching for new gear to create a very modest music setup in my home office for solo jamming, etc. I was planning to purchase (1) a new USB audio interface (formerly had an Audient id14) to essentially act as a PC sound card and operate my studio monitors, (2) a new mixer (formerly had a Mackie 1202VLZ4) to plug my synths and effects pedals (on Aux sends/returns) into, and (3) a looping pedal (haven't owned one in a while but formerly had a Boomerang).

However, I was completely unaware of the existence of the Tascam Model series until just this week. I strongly prefer the DAWless approach to making music, especially since I don't have much interest for now in recording and mastering and would rather spend my time jamming and experimenting. Love one knob per function, etc. Anyway, it occurred to me that I just might be able to get away with buying one of the Models and using it to replace all three of the functions listed above: PC interface, performance mixer and looper. Of course, this might also be wishful thinking, which is why I turn to all of you.

First of all, does the above idea sound at all reasonable to you? I've read through each of the 13 pages on this forum and know that the units aren't without their frustrations and shortcomings.

My main concerns are three fold: