Adobe Audition vs Audacity

Spyder

Hi there, I'm new to this forum and home recording as well. I have a simple question: I plan on recording guitar, bass and vocals with my DP-24 and using EZ Drummer 2 for drums (until I eventually record a live drum set), and then export .wav files from my DP-24 and EZ Drummer 2 to an editing program (and then bring all those tracks back individually into my DP-24). Most articles and videos I've seen have mentioned to use Audacity, which is supposed to be pretty good. I have a subscription to Adobe Creative Cloud, which includes Adobe Audition, so price isn't an issue. But I'm not sure if Audition is meant for putting songs together with the goal of recording an album. Can someone let me know if I should use Audacity or Audition? Some forums say Audacity just because it's free but that's not the issue. I want to use whichever one is best for this process. Thx!

Hi!

What you are describing is EXACTLY how I use my 2488!!!

Either Audacity or Audition will work fine, but I use Adobe Audition
especially for drums. You can gate, compress, etc. every drum separately, then put each one back on the Tascam as a tighter, cleaner version of itself.

This works GREAT for comping vocal takes/guitar solos in Audition's multitrack mode. Also really nice for mastering your final 2-track mixes. Yep! That's what I think, anyway!

Cheers,

Ken

Hi Ken,