Anyone interested in VST control of their DM4800?

Discussion in 'TASCAM DM-3200 & DM-4800' started by Rockum, Jun 8, 2019.

  1. Rockum

    Rockum Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2013
    Messages:
    137
    Likes:
    65
    From:
    Nashville, TN
    Gear:
    DM4800, iffw
    I've just finished a plugin/app that will give your DAW basic control of the DM4800.

    It comes in both a 2 row and 3 row version and will eventually be compiled for Windows 64/32 and Mac 64 bit. Right now it only exist as a VST2 and app for Windows 64 bit. The three row version is closely follows the layout of Tascam's Mixer companion.

    [​IMG]

    As you can see in the next picture, it gives your DAW control over the 64 channel, buss, aux, and master faders and mutes as well as the pans for the 64 channels. It also allows you to select your effects. The main benefit is being able to easily use your DAW to record and automate fader movements. The built in automation is great, but this is another option for those that prefer it. No SMPTE needed.

    [​IMG]

    If you are interested in beta testing it, please let me know.
  2. skier

    skier Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2016
    Messages:
    186
    Likes:
    76
    From:
    Connecticut, USA
    Gear:
    Tascam DM4800, PT 12
    VERY VERY COOL, ROCKUM!!! Well done!
    Rockum likes this.
  3. Peter Batah

    Peter Batah Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2017
    Messages:
    531
    Likes:
    89
    From:
    Montreal, Canada
    Gear:
    DM3200 / DM4800 / MU1000
    @Rockum That's amazing Rock. Great to see that someone is still interested in keeping the vision alive. I would be more than happy to give the app a road test. Have a great weekend. Peter
    Rockum likes this.
  4. Rockum

    Rockum Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2013
    Messages:
    137
    Likes:
    65
    From:
    Nashville, TN
    Gear:
    DM4800, iffw
    Windows or Mac, Peter?
  5. Peter Batah

    Peter Batah Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2017
    Messages:
    531
    Likes:
    89
    From:
    Montreal, Canada
    Gear:
    DM3200 / DM4800 / MU1000
    @Rockum Well, I use both on occasion. So, if it's not too much trouble I can install to both OS's Whatever is convenient for you. Don't want to put you out. I can provide an email address unless you plan on posting the file(s) on a hosting platform. Thank you
    Rockum likes this.
  6. Arjan P

    Arjan P Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2012
    Messages:
    927
    Likes:
    300
    From:
    Netherlands
    Gear:
    DM3200 IFFW
    Wow, very impressive! And great that you share your work overhere.

    Personally I don't have a need for such an app - and I have a 3200 anyway - but it sure looks great! Kudos!
    Rockum likes this.
  7. Rockum

    Rockum Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2013
    Messages:
    137
    Likes:
    65
    From:
    Nashville, TN
    Gear:
    DM4800, iffw
    @Peter Batah , want me to just send it via Facebook? If Facebook doesn't do files you can just send me the email address.

    @Arjan P Can you use the Tascam Mixer Companion software to send me screenshots of the 3200's MIDI screens that correspond with these from the 4800? I would need them to be set to the default configurations. If you can I can get you a version for the 3200.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  8. Arjan P

    Arjan P Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2012
    Messages:
    927
    Likes:
    300
    From:
    Netherlands
    Gear:
    DM3200 IFFW
    Sure @Rockum I'll make some screenshots once I'm back in the studio later this week. Not sure if they're in the default configuration, but I think so - I certainly never been on these pages before ;-)
    Rockum likes this.
  9. hammadejam2013

    hammadejam2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes:
    1
    From:
    Nashville,TN
    Gear:
    BR20T-DM4800-2300S
    Awesome!
    Rockum likes this.
  10. waterstrum

    waterstrum Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2012
    Messages:
    184
    Likes:
    38
    Gear:
    dm
    Wow! You have put a lot of work in to this.
    Looks like what Tascam might have done if they'd kept supporting the 4800.
    I'd be happy to test it on a Mac.
    Thanks!
    Rockum likes this.
  11. Arjan P

    Arjan P Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2012
    Messages:
    927
    Likes:
    300
    From:
    Netherlands
    Gear:
    DM3200 IFFW
    Okay @Rockum here are the screenshots, I hope they make sense to you..

    DM3200 MIDI-1.png
    DM3200 MIDI-2.png
    DM3200 MIDI-3.png
    DM3200 MIDI-4.png
    DM3200 MIDI-5.png
    DM3200 MIDI-6.png
  12. Rockum

    Rockum Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2013
    Messages:
    137
    Likes:
    65
    From:
    Nashville, TN
    Gear:
    DM4800, iffw
    @Arjan P

    Setup for the 32 will be simple. Nothing in those settings needs to be changed. You will only need to additionally...

    Set each item in the Fader's third column to 16
    Set each item in the Pan's third column to 17
    Set each item in the Mute's third column to 18

    You will have to make sure the MIDI in and out ports you chose have program changes and control changes activated.

    God willing, I will make you a version for 32 next week, but the 4800 version should already work fine. It will just have extra unused controls for the channels not on the 3200. Send me an email and I will send you the 4800 version this weekend.
    Peter Batah and Arjan P like this.
  13. Rockum

    Rockum Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2013
    Messages:
    137
    Likes:
    65
    From:
    Nashville, TN
    Gear:
    DM4800, iffw
  14. Arjan P

    Arjan P Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2012
    Messages:
    927
    Likes:
    300
    From:
    Netherlands
    Gear:
    DM3200 IFFW
    Okay, I take it you mean the columns for those items under TARGET (screenshots 2-3-4), not MASTER, right? Ànd about the MIDI settings for CC and PC, I got this older screenshot - maybe you can take a look and see what's OK or wrong in this screen (Not sure which MIDI channels you use). BTW, thanks so far!

    MIDI Setup DM.png
  15. Francesco Sabatino

    Francesco Sabatino New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes:
    0
    Gear:
    Tascam DM 4800
    I am interested in it
    Francesco
  16. zerascal

    zerascal New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes:
    4
    Gear:
    DM3200, IFFW, IF-AN/DM
    Hi Rockum,
    Great job, I'm interested for the DM3200 version.
    Cheers
  17. Rockum

    Rockum Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2013
    Messages:
    137
    Likes:
    65
    From:
    Nashville, TN
    Gear:
    DM4800, iffw
    @Arjan


    > I take it you mean the columns for those items under TARGET (screenshots 2-3-4)
    Yes.

    I don't know how you have MIDI connected to your DM. If you are using the MIDI in and out ports on the back of the unit, add the two check marks I show in green here. If you are using the USB connection to the DM, use USB Port 4, add the two blue check marks and lower the little drawbridge link in the blue box to establish the flow.


    [​IMG]
    Peter Batah and Arjan P like this.
  18. Arjan P

    Arjan P Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2012
    Messages:
    927
    Likes:
    300
    From:
    Netherlands
    Gear:
    DM3200 IFFW
    Thanks, @Rockum, I'm using the USB connection only so I'll give those a try. Will be a while before I can check but I'll come back on it.
  19. Rockum

    Rockum Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2013
    Messages:
    137
    Likes:
    65
    From:
    Nashville, TN
    Gear:
    DM4800, iffw
  20. David Feeger

    David Feeger New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes:
    0
    Gear:
    dm4800 and hd24
    I'd love to try it on win7, dm4800 using firewire