Aux / Inserts via Firewire

Bob Jonezon

Gear owned
DM-3200
I've been eying and researching the DM series for several years now, and finally pulled the trigger in the 4800, which is enroute.

I'm primarily a Cubase user, and my intent is to mix on the 4800 (sending tracks to the board via FW).

I'm hopeful about the built in eq / comp and other FX, and feel confident about routing configuration for external analog inserts and sends / returns.

One thing I'm not sure about is making use of FX on the DAW while mixing on the DM. Pre fader inserts can be handled simply within the DAW itself before sending to the DM, but thinking more of a scenario where I might want to use a post fader send on the DM to feed a reverb in the DAW, with the return coming back to the DM via FW.

It seems as though round trip latency through the DAW would create an issue in this scenario (with the return being delayed). Not sure if there's any compensation for this, or if there's a different routing configuration that would make more sense to leverage DAW FX as post fader sends on the DM.

Any thoughts / suggestions are greatly appreciated.

I've never tried what you suggest, but I think you're right in assuming the round-trip latency could be a problem. An option would be to record the post fader signal in Cubase and then mix with DAW FX on it, but I don't really see why you'd want to do that.

I don't use send FX in Cubase, but ofcourse it is possible to send the FX channels to the DM for separate mixing with the audio tracks. Not quite the same as what you want to do, I know..

What would the benefit be for a post fader send from the DM?

"...benefit be for a post fader send...?)

To print levels, EQ, compression/insert from DM channel module(s) to the DAW. Opposite of Input Bypass. AKA: 'Direct Send.'

CaptDan