Cannot get high enough recording level from mics on DP-03SD

Jembo

Gear owned
DP-006 & DP-03SD
Hi.

My name's Jem and I've recently been getting back into basic recording, after about 15 years completely out of the game.
I'm not a pro in any sense but spent my youth in bands, for about 20 years.

(Before I go further, can I preface this by saying)- I did read the 'please read this' and have had a look around, and have tried searching.
Various things are still a bit confusing (to me!) and I'm not managing to find now even a thread which I came across before signing up, via google.
So apologies if I've got anything wrong and am annoying anyone here. I do feel I have tried not to.
The thread that I searched for again (once logged in) was from only a few months ago, and was about exactly the same issue as I now have on the DP-03SD.

My problem is that I cannot get a high enough recording level from the mic inputs on the DP-03SD.
I've recently bought the machine and am still getting to know it a bit. I also have a DP-006, which I've not had very long either, but know better, and that is working perfectly.
The mic is a Shure SM58.

The input/possible recording level just seems incredibly quiet, and registering as such not only through the headphones level but also in terms of the visual display.
I have to have Trim on full, even to get the low signal that I have. Which is far too quiet. There's a fair bit of hiss, due to Trim being set on full.
I also have all faders set up virtually to the highest level, too, in order to hear it.

I then tried using the same mic on my DP-006.
That machine has the option to choose input levels of Low, Medium or High that can be selected under 'Input Setting'.
On that I found that the mic was too quiet when on the low setting, but fine when on the High setting.
So, the mic does not seem to be the problem.