DM3200 Work Flow Configurations

Transonic

From
Northern California
Gear owned
DM 3200 | IF-FW/DMMKII
Hello everyone. I'm a new poster to this forum, but have been "lurking" for a few months now. I'm a long time guitarist and am new to the craft of digital audio/music production. Thanks to the posts by folks like captdan, Jamsire, DrumStruc, TascMan, and others I've been able to get the DM-3200 up as the primary tracking interface in the studio. I have the HUI /Remote Layer working (thanks to captdan's detailed instructions). I'v'e not yet used the DM for mixing and mastering but that is the plan. The goal for myself and the studio at this point is to develop a work flow for music production on demand- I've been doing so for about a year with mixed success using the Eleven Rack with PT8 LE before getting the use of the DM in a really nice studio setup (long story). I usually start with a click track or drum track and lay down a basic arrangement with the guitar. I'll then add a midi bass line, keys, melody, and pad. No vocals yet, but now that I'm better set up for it that is in the plan. I use "input Bypass" in the DM and "low latency monitoring in PT to limit the latency issues with this approach- Once I've got the tracking done, I want to figure out the pro/'s con's of mixing and mastering using the DM-3200 vs. "In the Box"

I am interested in sharing work flow ideas for music production and DM-3200 set up for each stage. This is what I have gathered from lurking on the forum:

Tracking/Recording Setup

MTC Generate in PT
MTC External in DM
Guitar -> Eleven Rack -> Digital IN on the DM -> input Bypass -> IF-FW/DMMKII (Slot1) -> PT
Axiom Pro Midi -> USB -> Computer -> PTM/L -> input bypass -> IF-FW/DMMKII -> PT
Monitor Setup: Stereo Out -> IF-SM/DM (Slot 2) -> JBL Studio Monitors
Recording booth headphone mix: Stereo Out -> ADAT -> HEAR back rig

Mixing/Mastering Setup (haven't tried this yet but this is what I've gathered from the forum)

MTC External in PT