DP 24SD Virtual Tracks..Assigning

Neil Paisnel

Gear owned
112 MkII, DP24-SD
Hi All

I have been corresponding with Phil for a few days, and he pointed me here..so only fair I stop petering just him with dumb questions and spread the love :)

I am trying to learn the basics of a DP24Sd to help out a musician friend..he really has no idea about it. After watching Phils Videos I seem to have a good basic grasp. I had not seen the machine until 2-3 days ago, and just watched all of Phils Videos. I am not a musician and no real music tech/mixer experience.

Firmware version 1.09.026

I am trying to learn stuff so I can teach him..

OK, so to my question.

The owner has created a short song with 3 active tracks.
I am trying to learn and use the AutoPunch in function

It works, ..using Repeat and Auto Punch in settings, and I created some vocal with a mic, ON V-tracks With track 34 Selected. Once Stop Button hit, it shows the 4 Virtual tracks I created and I can highlight them Play and load them.

But one thing confuses me..

On page 48 of the manual it states ( from my reading ) that you can Assign a Virtual Track to ANY physical Track.. As pasted below...

But I can only seem to get it to 'attach' to the Track I initially selected (T4)
If I select another real track button, then the Virtual track listing changes from the 4 V-Tracks I created to a blank list of V-tracks

So ..how can these 4 V-tracks I created be saved to 4 different Physical Tracks?

Assigning virtual tracks

Follow these procedures to assign a virtual track to a physical track.

1. Press the SELECT button of a track you want to assign a virtual track to when the Home screen is displayed, and then press the VIRTUAL TRACK button.

The VIRTUAL TRACK screen appears.

You can also press the VIRTUAL TRACK button first, then select a track on the VIRTUAL TRACK screen.

NOTE

When creating a song, the virtual track #1 is assigned to each physical track.