NEW DM-3200

lee lines

Gear owned
Tascam DM3200
Hi All,
This is my first time on here and everybody seems helpful, so I hope somebody can help me out.
I have just got a DM-3200 (I have never used anything like this before.
I have a fire wire card connected to my pc running cubase
I cannot get the routing correct and cannot hear anything out of the desk.

If I explain how my system is set up first, as this could be a problem.

I have my monitor speakers coming out of monitor outputs.
I have my outboard gear coming into the desk via line in inputs Ch 1 - 16
And was going to set the outputs from Cubase n Ch 17-32

My questions are no1 is the above correct?
What is the correct routing process.

Than you to anybody who an help me.

cheers
lee

Congrats on your purchase and welcome to the forum. If you are of the persuasion, Merry Christmas. Otherwise, Happy Holidays. How cool would it be to find a 3200 under the tree. Or stuffed into a huge stocking.

Happy to extend some knowledge.

To answer your question, yes, that will work just fine. A better option assigns the Cubase (or any Daw) outputs to DM CH1-32's INP RTNs (or 1-16 if you just want to mix stems from Cubase). You can set your FW card to send 32channels from the 3200 To Cubase and return 32 channels From Cubase, if you want to. Assigning the returns from Cubase into channels 1-32 (using something called Input Return -or INP RTN) allows you to switch into a "Mixing" mode while not taking up a bunch of extra other inputs that you may want for other things.

Summery first.