Pops and Clicks

mudbone

Gear owned
MX2424 M2524 Mixer
Hello, I am new to the user group and a new owner of an MX. I have read quite a few post regarding the issue I'm having, but no one seems to have my setup.
I am using a M2524 console going to 3 ADAT's. The ADAT's are being used for the AD conversion, then I'm going into the MX from the ADAT using the ADAT IF-AD24 card.
The ADAT's are mechanically done. I get all the common errors when I put tapes in.
I thought the MX would be the next way to go.
The problem is clicks and pops on loud passages. The drum tracks and louder synth tracks are the ones affected.
I really don't know where to start with this issue. I've tried the Low Level Format and this did not work. I am currently running OS 3.05.
I cant update the OS because I don't have a smart media card and I cant seem to get the Viewnet to run in XP. I've spent a lot of time messing with Java trying to figure it out, but I've given up.
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Mark

Pops and Clicks,

If you have signal coming in via adat, have you set up the word clock. Personally I would set up the MX as the clock master and slave the Adats to the MX. This should solve the problem unless the clicks and pops are being caused by high signal levels. We have 2 x MX machines linked via Adat to an M-Audio lightbridge and this used to pop until we got the work clock issue sorted. A freelance producer uses this to use the MX's as a 24 in and 24 out to firewire to protools, we also have the analog cards fitted. I just use the MX as the recorder.

OS, you need to hunt down a media card, do a search of the net, there will be one around somewhere. OS 3.05 can cause problems, especially if using larger SCSI drives.

I don't know about view net in XP as I had this all sorted in my old windows 98 machine and now I only use MX view as the viewing software, but what problems are you having with running view net?

Cheers
Alan.