Still amazed with DP32sd

Findlay

Veteran
Gear owned
244 DP32
Just felt I had to post about how amazed I am with the DP32. A few years back I used it, in tandem with a DP-008EX, to record my own take of the entire Deja Vu CSN&Y album. A few months back I used it for a version of Abbey Road. I recorded almost everything on the DP-008EX again, apart from a few lead guitar parts, in keeping with the spirit of the original, but mixed it on the DP32sd. Very happy with the reverb - only problem was mixing The End, where the DP32 froze a few times on mixdown - maybe because of the complex mixing of the three guitar parts. Using the Sandisk Exteme Pro card. Would love to post some songs but scared because of copyright. If David Porter is still on this Forum, Thanks again for your help with the buying decision 4 years or so back!

SOOPERkewl. Both are fine units...I have an OG DP-32 and I love it so much it ousted the last of 3 2488-series that I had been using for over 15 years (I still think the 2488neo is the best P/Studio they ever made...).

RE - freezing: the usual suspect is incompatible or bad/corrupted SD cards, though it sound like you've got the right one. You may want to consider backing up your work, formatting it in the machine you want to use, and restoring.
Another thing to consider: the track-fragmentation thing (whereby the DP is keeping track of dozens - or more - "z" track fragment files to constitute a single track...this appears to strain the DP's processing capacity, and if you have lots of tracks with lots of fragments, this could also be a likely freezing cause. You might want to consider that 'track consolidation' process, perhaps at the end of tracking and before mixing? You can search the forum for "consolidation" - or start at this thread...