Why Is That...Is it Defective

Sasha Schlemiel

Gear owned
Potablestudiadp-24 (used)
hi phil tipping i'm new to midi and this forum and a first time owner of a used tascam portastudiodp-24 with the cd player and midi thingies that I just got off of e-bay from a corner guy named binky who promised me that the dp-24 is in mint condition and perfect working order and why would i not believe him, since he seemed like a really nice guy and very knowledgeable. i also got lots of different sd cards i also got real cheap on e-bay.

so i want to use my new to me used dp-24 to control my free daw that my cousin told me is really good for that but when i turned on my dp-24 it wouldnt connect to the computer, even though i tried many times turning it on and off. WHY IS THAT?

is my dp-24 DEFECTIVE even though binky promised it was perfect when he found it? so i was wondering if you could help me because maybe the 'pt' in chatgpt is you 'p'hil 't'ipping so i aksd it a qwestion about you and lernt of your grate midi skils and knowlege. can you please tell me in very simple words everything you know about midi and give me detailed step-by-step instructions for using my dp-24 with my daw? ty your new friend for life sacha schlemiel
April 1, 2023
;)

Last edited:
HI, Sasha. While we wait for Phil I will point out that your Portastudio is not intended to be used as a DAW controller. It will connect to your computer to exchange data for backups and such but you may need to temper your expectations a bit.

FP

Welcome to the forum Sasha, although I'm not sure how much help I can offer as I need more input. FP's answer may solve your problem, but it's important to keep in mind that even if Binky promised that the DP-24 was perfect, he may not have known about any underlying issues. It's always a good idea to thoroughly test any used equipment before making a purchase.