Adding effects to drums

kouka

Gear owned
SX-1
hola everyone! I am brand new to recording in general, and have had an SX-1 for a couple months now. I've been able to figure out the basics, but for the life of me can't figure out a way to (easily) EQ tracks and add effects.

I have recorded drums and want to fatten the sound up, adding reverb/etc to make them sound bigger. There's not that many screens to scroll through, and I admittedly hate digging through manuals.. so if someone could be a kind soul and point me in the right direction, I'd appreciate it!

you can add Dynamics (EQ, Compression, etc) to individual Tracks/Channels from the Channel screen...there are a bunch of presets and you can also create and save your own settings...the reverbs and other effects are on the Effects page...

I see where it seems like you can edit EQ, but I can't figure out how to actually apply it to the track. is there some sort of "preview"? messing with the EQ while it's playing doesn't make an audible difference.

And with the Effects, I can't figure out how to apply that either.. the manual says something about 4 areas (I forget the terminology) to send the effect to, but shit if I can figure that out either.

I am coming from a Soundforge background where everything was "highlight and hit enter", so my brain is having a hard time adjusting.

some videos would be mighty helpful if someone would be so inclined :D

I'm not sure why you can't hear the Dynamics when you're playing a Track back...are you turning the EQ, Compression etc on? there's a "Bypass" button that acts as a tool to compare the signal with and without the added dynamics...
I also use Sound Forge and I'm not sure what you mean by highlight and hit Enter...mine doesn't work that way...