Any Feedback Would be Hugely Appreciated & I Can Do Same (Tom Waits/Perfume Genius/Damien Rice style

Sean Murphy

Gear owned
DP-03SD
Hey Everyone,

Sorry to bother you all. I was hoping you could help with any tips suggestions feedback on an album I made obviously reviewing just one track is totally fine as there are like 18 tracks). I'm a total novice and I wrote and recorded these in 2 months. Big flaws I'm sure but I'm completely blind to them. I have no idea how good or bad this is or what needs to be changed. Would hugely appreciate any feedback and in return I'd happily do the same

https://soundcloud.com/nationalanthem-887859168/sets/you-are-callous

Hi Sean, welcome to the Forums.

Using high end studio reference gear, I gave a quick listen to the audio quality of a few of your tracks. Overall, very nicely done! Nothing major jumps out regarding the quality of the recording or the mix for the songs I listened to.

Before I make any suggestion, it would be helpful to know the gear you're using with your DP-03SD for tracking/mixing/mastering (brand and model):
  • Speakers
  • Headphones
  • Amplifier
  • The vocal mic you're using.
  • How your speakers are positioned and distanced vis a vis each other and vis a vis your mixing/mastering listening position.

Last edited:
Very kind of you for taking the time Mark. Please don't feel under any pressure to respond and also more than happy to give my feedback on any project you may have. I appreciate your insight and time you gave - much appreciated. If you did want to look more, the answers to your questions are below
  • No speakers or amp used
  • 8 Track Tascam DP - 03SD
  • fp-30 Electric piano connected via guitar lead from headphone jack to jack in Tascam
  • Dave Smith Prophet 08 - Synth connected via guitar lead from headphone jack to jack in Tascam
  • Rode NT1 mic with metallic c shape booth
  • Thompson Over Ear Headphones
  • Kaoss pad with 4 dollar terrible microphone (Icarus effect)