Can I Use a DAW to Mix Backup Files?

RD Maynard

Gear owned
Tascam DP 008EX
I'm a noob, so forgive me if this question has been answered before - I did search for it. I've been able to use WavePad to edit and add effects, eq, etc., to the exported .wav files from my DP-008EX. I have also copied several backup, (I think MTR, e.g., "*.001",) files to my computer with the aim of trying to fine-tune the 8-channel mixes with a DAW. So far, I haven't had any success. Is this even possible and, if so, what app or software do I need to do it?

Thanks.

Last edited:
No, you can’t that way.
BACKUP is just to save a complete song outside the DP (it is a container file which can only be read again by another similar device, 2 channel DP) with the RESTORE function.
If you want to work on single tracks outside the DP use the EXPORT function. And to get them back processed the IMPORT function.

Thanks. Since I posted this question, I spent a bit more time with the unit and "discovered" how to use this function. I got all the exported tracks into Pro Tools First, but I'm not sure it's the best DAW for my purposes. What other DAWs might work for someone who has a very limited budget? I'm not looking to recreate "Sgt. Pepper's", I just want to make a demo for local venues.

Reaper. Comes with all the stock plugins and capability you need. Non crippled demo that will work to perpetuity.

I've just started using Audacity. It's completely free and I've been really quite impressed so far.